

February 24, 2021

Hays Trinity Groundwater -- Speaker Series

For immediate release:

February 22, 2021

For more information contact Charlie Flatten, General Manager at gm@haysgroundwater.com or 512-858-9253

The Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District has announced its 2021 *Water-20 Speaker Series*. Subject matter experts will discuss a variety of water topics important to Hays County residents.

Hays County is listed by the US Census Bureau as the second fastest growing county in the United States. Great schools, good housing, proximity to growing business opportunities, and a beautiful landscape are all drivers for our growth.

Its most precious resource is water. The Trinity Aquifer deep below has a limited recharge capacity and will not support the growth coming in the next 20-years. The County needs to maximize efficiency of use and diversify its water supply portfolio to keep local communities healthy and viable long into the future.

Rainwater is already being collected on homesteads and larger buildings across Hays County. Waterwise landscaping, land conservation, and climate trends are all important parts of a strategy to protec our aquifers.

Speakers will present at 5:30 live and online. Dial-in information will be on the District website www.HaysGroundwater.com the week before each presentation. Check the schedule for upcoming dates.

Topics will include:

Scalable Solutions -- Rainwater Harvesting:

James Grizzard, Harvest Rain - March 4, 2021

Water Wise Lawns and Gardens:

Hays County Master Naturalists - May 6, 2021

Wimberley One-Water School – Innovative Conservation Design:

Nick Dornak, Meadows Center for Water and the Environment - July 1, 2021

Benefits of Land Conservation on Water Resources:

Lori Olson, Texas Land Trust Council - TBD

Climate and Weather Trends in the Hill Country:

John Nielson-Gammon, State Climatologist - TBD

Charlie Flatten

STAFF & BOARD

General Manager

Philip Webster Hydrogeologist

Keaton Hoelscher

Geo-Technician

Laura Thomas

Office Administrator

Holly Fults

President District 3

Linda Kaye Rogers

Vice President District 4

John Worrall

Treasurer/Secretary
District 1

Toby Shelton

District 2

Doc Jones

District 5