Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Online – Virtual Certified Interpretive Guide Training Course with NAI

March 1 - March 12

$235 – $385

The National Association for Interpretation (NAI) is offering an online training course for individuals in the field of Interpretation. It is designed for individuals who deliver interpretive programs or have contact with the public at interpretive sites.  This course will be a combination of online instruction and virtual meetings with your instructor. Note, this course is designed to cover all the same material and requirements as the in-person Certified Interpretive Guide course and the certification awarded is the same as our face to face offerings. Prior to the start of the course, you will receive information from your instructor on how the course will work and the times you will be meeting.

The CIG Program

The nationally recognized Certified Interpretive Guide (CIG) program is designed for anyone in the interpretive field. Whether you’re a new hire, a professional looking to refresh your skills, or beginning a second career, this course will aid you in improving your presentation techniques. The course combines the theoretical foundations of the profession with practical strategies in delivering quality interpretive programming to visitors.

This virtual course includes:

  • The history, definition, and principles of interpretation.
  • Techniques on how to make your programs purposeful, enjoyable, relevant, organized, and thematic.
  • How to use tangible objects to connect your audience to intangible ideas and universal concepts.
  • The 3 certification requirements needed to obtain a CIG (open book CORE Literature Review exam, program outline, and 10 minute interpretive presentation).

Schedule

This course is taught via Zoom from March 1 to March 12. From March 1 to March 5, we will meet for four hours per day via Zoom beginning at 10 AM EST, 9 AM CST,  8 AM MST and 7 AM PST. During those same times on March 8 and 9 the Zoom platform will be available for scheduled personal coaching sessions and group work on the literature review for those attempting certification. Depending on the number and agreement of the participants, final presentations will occur on March 11 and/or 12. Follow-up appointments will be made with each participant to receive personal instructor feedback.

Learn more and register here.

Details

Start:
March 1
End:
March 12
Cost:
$235 – $385
Event Category:
View Event Website

Venue

Online

Organizer

National Association for Interpretation
View Organizer Website